Menu

WRIR’s Party for the Rest of Us

Live music, spoken word, and DJ’s will highlight 97.3 FM WRIR’s annual birthday celebration on Friday, February 4th, 2011. WRIR’s “Party for the Rest of Us” begins at 7PM and continues until midnight in the Roosevelt Ballroom of the Renaissance Conference Center, 107 West Broad Street in Richmond, Virginia.

This year, the evening begins with an opening ceremony featuring Native American drum and dance ensemble Youghtanund. Featured bands on the main stage include The Diamond Center, Marionette, Ultra Dolphins, and Pennyshaker. A hip hop showcase curated by Black Liquid and featuring local artists Artik Phreeze, Doethepaperboy, Ms Proper, Official Freeze, Skurban Barz Ent
will anchor a second stage, also the site for Spirit Winds (Native American flute players), Richmond Youth Jazz Guild, Turnstyle Soundsystem, WRIR DJs, and stand-up comedy performances from Dave Garland, Joe Hafkey, and John Reaves.

A $10 donation at the door benefits WRIR and includes access to all entertainment, hors d’oeuvre, and birthday cake. Beverages will be available at Roosevelt Ballroom cash bars.

97.3FM WRIR is a non-profit, volunteer operated and managed radio station, broadcasting unrepresented music, news and views 24 hours a day, seven days a week from studios in Richmond’s Fan District. For more information about WRIR and the station’s programing, visit wrir.org or contact Matt Zoller at mattzoller@gmail.com or 804-387-8510.

Talent playing WRIR’s “Party for the Rest of Us” Fri 04 Feb 2011

Youghtanund http://www.facebook.com/youghtanund
The Diamond Center http://rvamag.com/articles/full/8863/the-migration-of-the-diamond-center http://www.starnewsonline.com/article/20100106/ARTICLES/1064000
Marionette http://www.marionettemusic.com/bio/
Ultra Dolphins http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ultra-Dolphins/107186382657146
Pennyshaker http://www.pennyshaker.com/
Artik Freeze http://www.facebook.com/pages/Artik-Phreeze/121087118031
Doethepaperboy http://www.doenation.com/
Ms. Proper http://www.msproper.net/fr_home.cf
Official Freeze http://www.hiphopva.com/featured/featured-artist/item/103-official-freeze-feature
Skurban Barz Ent http://skurbanbarz.webs.com/
Spirit Wind http://www.allmusic.com/album/spirit-wind-native-american-flute-r1087633
Richmond Youth Jazz Guild http://richmondyouthjazzguild.musecreativeworkspace.com/history.html
Turnstyle Soundsystem http://www.turnstylesoundsystem.com/
Dave Garland http://vimeo.com/13255291
Joe Hafkey http://www.rvacomedy.com/tag/joe-hafkey/
John Reaves http://www.youtube.com/user/PedroPatrol

0 comments

No comments yet. Add your voice!